MINUTES

MONDAY, December 19, 2016

PALM BEACH COUNTY CRIMINAL JUSTICE COMMISSION

McEaddy Conference Room 12th Floor, 301 N. Olive Avenue West Palm Beach

Members Present:

Dave Aronberg Rosalyn Baker **Barbara Cheives** Jeffrey Colbath Douglas Duncan Carey Haughwout Joseph lanno, Jr. Al Jacquet Keith James

Randolph Johnson, Sr.

Kevin L. Jones Dave Kerner Nellie King William Kramer Barry Krischer Bryan Kummerlen Karl Martin James Martz Frank Mercurio

Greg Starling Lee Waring Erica Whitfield

Christina Morrison Gerald Richman

Members Absent:

Sharon Bock Ric Bradshaw Michael D'Alonzo George Elmore Rolando Garcia Frank Kitzerow John McKenna Robert Shirley

Guests Attending:

Jon Van Arnam, PBC Deputy County Administrator Louis Tomeo, Clerk & Comptroller's Office Chief Deputy Michael Gauger, PBSO Sarah Mooney, West Palm Beach Police Department Kesnel Theus, Florida House of Representatives John Smykla, FAU Laurie Garduke, John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation Sara Fritsche, Center for Court Innovation

Katie Crank, Center for Court Innovation Arlene Griffiths, PBC Public Safety Department Jennifer Loyless, Public Defender's Office

Mike Edmondson, State Attorney's Office Mark Strach, Florida Dept. of Corrections

Duane Little, Florida Dept. of Law Enforcement

Jenise Link, PBC Justice Services
Richard Radcliffe, PBC League of Cities
Justine Patterson, Florida Department of Corrections
Debra Oats, Court Administration
Michelle Spangenberg, Court Administration
Barbara Dawicke, Court Administration
Judge Jonathan Gerber, 4th District Court of Appeals

Staff Present:

Kristina Henson, Executive Director
Danny Kreshak, Financial Analyst
Katherine Hatos, Senior Criminal Justice Analyst
Rosalind Murray, Senior Criminal Justice Analyst
Allison Orr, Administrative Assistant
Jackie Price, Criminal Justice Analyst
Pamela Williams, Temporary Staff
Bert Winkler, Criminal Justice Analyst

- I. Chairman Lee Waring called the meeting to order and extended a welcome to members and guests.
- II. Roll call was taken and a quorum was present.
- III. Chairman Waring invited guests to introduce themselves.
- IV. The Agenda for the December 19, 2016 meeting was unanimously approved after motion by Judge Jeffrey Colbath and second by Ms. Nellie King.
- V. The Minutes of the November 28, 2016 meeting were unanimously approved after motion by Ms. Christina Morrison and a second by Judge Jeffrey Colbath.

VI. Chairman's Comments:

- Lee Waring welcomed the newest members of the CJC, Honorable Al Jacquet, Judge James Martz, Honorable Erica Whitfield, and Commissioner Dave Kerner. He also welcomed Ms. Laurie Garduque, Director of Justice Reforms, MacArthur Foundation.
- 2. Chair Waring announced service recognitions for former Commissioner Priscilla Taylor; Mr. Dave Kerner, Legislative Delegation; Judge Kathleen Kroll, Administrative Judge Juvenile Division, and Mr. Duane Little, FDLE.
- 3. Chair Waring announced the preliminary agenda for the CJC Annual Planning Meeting. He asked for input, changes and/or additions from the members.

VII. Executive Director Comments:

- 1. Kristina Henson introduced the CJC's new Assistant County Attorney, Ms. L. Denise Coffman.
- 2. Ms. Henson announced Director John Smykla of FAU has invited the CJC staff

- to meet with him and his faculty the second week of January to discuss the CJC and its initiatives.
- 3. Ms. Henson announced that the 30th Citizen's Criminal Justice Academy Graduation will be held the evening of December 19th.
- 4. Ms. Henson announced initial County activities concerning the opioid epidemic, that involve the review of a joint study recently released by the National Association of Counties and National League of Cities which gives direction to jurisdictions on how to handle these issues. Further detail was given by Deputy County Administrator, Mr. Jon Van Arnam. Recommendations for procedures, funding, and gathering of community consensus are being worked on to present to the BOCC. Chair Waring added this topic will be an important discussion at the CJC Annual Planning Meeting.

VIII. Old Business:

- Judge Mounts Prison Tour: Judge Jonathan Gerber gave a brief history of the Judge Marvin Mounts Annual Prison Tour, set for March 30-31, 2017. He thanked the CJC members for once again sponsoring the tour bus, and encouraged any members who have not yet gone on the tour to do so in the future.
- 2. Community Engagement Task Force Draft Action Plan: Co-Chair Barbara Cheives gave an outline of strategies adopted by the Task Force. There was discussion from the members regarding ensuring that the Task Force is garnering support and feedback from community members. Chair Waring called for a motion to approve the draft Action Plan. A motion was made by Ms. Christina Morrison and upon a second by Judge Jeffrey Colbath the motion passed unanimously.
- 3. Batterer's Intervention Program Certification Process: Ms. Nellie King gave an overview of the program and similar anger management programs offered through approximately nine servicers. The Court Systems Task Force has drafted a package through an affidavit process recommended by the Office of the State Court Administrator (OSTA) for certification of these providers. Member discussion ensued. It was agreed that baseline information needs to be gathered and the vendors certified, via this affidavit process. Mr. William Kramer made a motion to approve and utilize the affidavit process and to further gather and analyze data with a follow up to establish the certification process. Upon a second by Ms. Rosalyn Baker the motion passed unanimously.

IX. New Business:

1. Installation of 2017 CJC Officers: Chief Judge Jeffrey Colbath administered the oath of office to Mr. Gerald Richman as Vice-Chair, Mr. Barry Krischer as Treasurer, and Ms. Rosalyn Baker as Secretary.

X. Update on Body-Worn Camera Committee:

1. Ms. Henson announced the newly formed Body-Worn Camera Committee will meet on January 11, 2017.

XI. Member Comments:

Chair Waring requested again ideas, comments and suggestions from themembers for the Annual Planning Meeting to be directed to Director Henson. He thanked the faculty from FAU for attending the meeting.

With no further comments, Chairman Waring adjourned the meeting at approximately 9:07 a.m.